Compare
TapNoise vs Klack.
A menu bar app that makes each keystroke sound like a mechanical switch, with spatial audio and customizable switches. Here is how it and TapNoise differ on price, refunds and features, so you can choose. We make TapNoise.
Before you compareKlack’s site shows a “Purchase for Mac” button and no price, so the price here comes from its App Store listing.
| Feature | TapNoise | Klack |
|---|---|---|
| Price | US$7.99 one time, plus tax | US$4.99 on the App Store; pricing model not stated |
| Trial or refund | 14-day refund, no trial | Not stated |
| Macs per purchase | 2 Macs | Not stated |
| Needs | macOS 14 or later. Motion features need a MacBook with a motion sensor | macOS 15.0 or later |
| Open source | No | Not stated |
| Sounds | 20 sounds | Not stated. Its site names seven switch sets |
| A sound for every keyEach keystroke plays a sound. | Yes | Yes |
| Switch-style soundsSounds modelled on mechanical switches. | Yes | Yes |
| Your own sound packsAdd sound packs you made yourself. | No | Not listed |
| A desktop buddyTappy, a keycap that reacts as you type. | Yes | Not listed |
| MacBook body soundsSlaps, lid creaks and charger or USB chimes. | Yes | Not listed |
| Guard ModeAn alarm if the MacBook is lifted or the charger is pulled. | Yes | Not listed |
| Clean ModeLocks the keys for a minute, so you can wipe them. | Yes | Not listed |
| Agent soundsSounds when Claude Code, Codex or Cursor is done or needs you. | Yes | Not listed |
| Knock commandsKnock twice to play or pause music, or mute your mic in a call. | Yes | Not listed |
Other apps’ prices and features are taken from their own sites, store pages and repositories, checked on 9 October 2026. “Not listed” means we could not find it there; the app may still have it. “Not stated” means the source does not say. TapNoise is our app. If something here is wrong, email support@tapnoise.com and we will fix it.
Which should you choose?
Choose TapNoise
If you want a desktop buddy, MacBook body sounds, Guard Mode, Clean Mode, agent sounds and knock commands: TapNoise has them, and we couldn’t find them in Klack’s listing. It is US$7.99 once, for up to 2 Macs, with a 14-day refund.
Choose Klack
If you want spatial audio or one of its named switch sets, and you are on macOS 15 or later.
Both apps list a sound for every key and switch-style sounds.
Klack’s details come from its own pages: apps.apple.com, tryklack.com, checked on 9 October 2026. The best Klack alternatives, too.
Pay once. Keep it.
US$7.99 once, plus tax, for up to 2 Macs, with a 14-day refund and no subscription. For Macs on macOS 14 or later.
TapNoise